Contact Information

Old Scratch Pizza

Address:
812 S Patterson Road
DaytonOH 45402

Phone: 937-331-5357
Website:

Leave a review

Have you ever visited Old Scratch Pizza ?

Please select the star rating that describes your experience.
StarStarStarStarStar

Overall Rating

100100100100625
4.6/5.0
(based on 257 reviews)

Recent Reviews

  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Clevie L.
    My family and I got (I can't remember the name) the pizza with the house made spicy honey, the pizza with the house made sausage and meatballs, and the white pizza with mushrooms. All were to DIE for! Love how airy and flavorful the crust is. We also got the roasted cauliflower which is an ABSOLUTE must!! As if the cauliflower alone wasn't delicious, it's served with a delicious remoulade that takes it to the next level!
    September 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ryan B.
    I didn't realize how important the crust of a pizza was until I ate here. Perfection.
    September 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Billy C.
    Meatballs are delicious. Had the house salad for the first time today. One of the better Italian dressing salads I have has as it is more creamy than oil and vinegar. Also the croutons were so good. Another great experience, Thank you Old Scratch team.
    September 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Paul C.
    Great local pizza joint. Wood fired ovens with thin crust. Weekly veg and pizza specials. Try the roasted cauliflower. Great tap list
    September 9, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Linda B.
    First time there and man it was so good and worth the trip
    September 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Roshan K.
    Stopped by for a quick visit on the road based on good reviews. Everything was absolutely amazing! We had the Stracciatella as an starter and the Angry Beekeeper as a pizza. Perfect for two people to share. I also had one of their local brews the Lagunitas Phase Change. Everything was excellent!
    September 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Mark B.
    Very good pizza; great service and great beer selection. Will definitely go again.
    September 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Stephen M.
    I LOVE this place! Great pizza and Super salads. Lots of vegetarian selections! It is busy and lively there. The staff and the bar staff very welcoming and accommodating. Lastly, it is quite the trendy place...a Dayton original and quite worthy of bringing out of town visitors! I wish I could give them 10 stars.
    August 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Erin K.
    favorite place to go in Dayton! It's casual and you can bring a lot of people. The food and beer is amazing! Sometimes the line can get long, but it moves fast. Long lines are the sign of a popular place, nothing wrong with that!
    August 21, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Hanna F.
    My dad and I stopped in one night and shared the Angry Beekeeper pizza and the Applewood-Bacon Ranch salad. I really enjoyed the spicy sweet combo of the pizza and the salad was crisp and delicious but how can you go wrong with bacon? We sat at the bar and the service was gracious and prompt. Really good date spot
    August 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Richard M.
    That was my first visit and it was as great as I've heard so glad I had a chance to stop by the pizza was fantastic and if you like a spicy I mean spicy Bloody Mary there's was awesome
    August 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Walter M.
    This is a hipster type place... a cool vibe. The menu has options not found in most pizza places. Earthy and organic. Sitting is a little hard for me.. all picnic tables, but very clean and simple. The wood fired pipes are soooooo delicious.
    August 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Emily S.
    Always good food, good beer selection, very family friendly. My kids love the Micky Mouse shaped kid's pizzas, a very good value.
    August 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Adele D.
    Really good thin crust pizza. The restaurant is sort of loud and has like family style seating. They give free soft serve to kids with is pretty cool and the cashier said I looked like Winona Ryder,so 5 stars!
    August 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Carson P.
    Artisan, Naples style pizza that can't be matched by any other pizza in Dayton, and a craft beer selection full of quality choices for every type of drinker. The signature cocktails are amazing as well!
    August 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Don G.
    This pizza place is excellent. Had the Dayton and Brooklyn versions. Both were great. Wood fired ovens make such a difference and thin crusts were crisp as they should be. Service was very fast (family style picnic table seating). Didn't sample the brews but long list and apparently this is a popular spot with Univ Dayton folks. Definitely on the short list of great spots near downtown Dayton.
    August 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dave L.
    Great food, drinks, service and atmosphere...and even old school arcade games. Everything you need for a wonderful time with family and friends. Owners are awesome.
    August 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amanda H.
    Awesome pizza, yummy drinks, and a great staff!! It's kind of set up like cafeteria-style seating and there's also a patio to sit outside.
    August 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jason G.
    This place is good. It looks like it is going to be counter service but there is someone that finds you a seat while you are in line so you aren't searching while they are busy. That was a great touch. The food is good, I with the ovens were wood fired, but they aren't lacking anything as is. They have good selection of beers on tap and the staff were all great. Keep this place going!
    August 4, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Aaron C.
    I love this place. Another place I always take people too when they ask what's Dayton have to offer. People wait out the door to get in here. They have amazing pizza, great beer, and a great space bringing it together. We love choosing this place for friends and family get together. Everyone gets a little of everything. Don't sleep on the Roasted Cauliflower.
    August 3, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kathy H.
    Stopped in this place when we were in Dayton visiting the Air Force Museum. Really good! We tried 3 different pizzas and they were all delicious. My favorite was the Angry Bee - so unusual and good! Neat atmosphere as well. The wood-fired pizzas were quickly delivered and perfectly cooked as well. I highly recommend it if you enjoy wood fired pizzas.
    August 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nick C.
    Traveled to Dayton for work and was looking for a lunch place. Stumbled across this place. Pretty cool ambiance, you walk in and order your food and then there are a bunch of picnic tables that you can sit at. They have a separate place to order adult beverages and the choices are vast. We got the old scratchy pizza and some kind of bumble bee pizza. Both were delicious but the bumblebee pizza was the best! If I come back to Dayton I will return.
    August 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sarah W.
    I wake up having dreams of the food here. Prosciutto arugula pizza. Margaritas. Olives. Cauliflower. The summer corn. Even the gluten free crust option is amazing and I'm not gluten free! Old scratch is Dayton at its finest.
    July 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joe J.
    Best pizza and brews you'll get in downtown Dayton. Love this place.
    July 28, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer L.
    The food and drinks at Old Scratch Pizza & Beer is delicious. The atmosphere is great as well. We took a big group of multiple families, not only was the service solid, but the staff was also very accommodating to the ten or so teenage boys with us. The only caution I have for larger groups is that they are very busy and you may have a long wait, especially if you want a single table.
    July 27, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Brandon M.
    It's a cool place. The Italian "sandwich" was odd. It has cesar dressing and is served in a pita pocket?
    July 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie J.
    Delicious happy place! Loved the atmosphere and the pizza and yes the salad. Huge salad labeled half..enough to share!
    July 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    D-Englewood L.
    This is a great place for handcrafted pizzas. The beer list is as good as the pizza. The meatballs are delicious and the sauce is great for dipping. The mushroom pizzas is awesome. We got several and tried each others.
    July 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    chris P.
    Great food, but a little expensive considering there is no table service and that you are sitting on picnic benches in a noisy room.
    July 22, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    S F.
    Delicious. I work downtown and ordering pick up is a BREEZE. The office is always jealous when I bring back an OSP box. Everything is delish! I recommend Angry Beekeeper and Sophie Mae :-)
    July 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Donna S.
    Love their from scratch pizza and sausage. A favorite is the roasted olive appetizer.
    July 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Chris B.
    Some of the best pizza in Dayton. Wood fired with unique ingredients. Great craft beer selection as well.
    July 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Keri G.
    Update: For the past two years I have been coming to Old Scratch regularly - at least 2-3 times a month! And it still is just as great as my first review. My regular order is a Shroom pizza (I occasionally add ricotta and arugula) and an Olympus salad. I make no joke when I say the salads and sides and starters are just as good, if not better, than the pizza! The roasted cauliflower is to die for and many rotating specials have knocked my socks off (bring back the butternut squash vegan pizza with watermelon radishes!!). Old Scratch is now officially my favorite pizza joint in Dayton.
    July 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cassandra H.
    Really great food and really fun atmosphere. Service was friendly and fast, despite it being a really busy Saturday night. We loved the diverse menu and interesting ingredients featured in the dishes. Prices were fair. We ordered the Stracciatella (great!), the Olympus salad (filling), and the Mr. Scratch pizza (excellent!). Give it a try if ever you're in the Dayton area!
    July 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cortnee S.
    Our family loves Old Scratch! We even had our daughter's graduation party here. The back room is perfect for events. Great food and great atmosphere. Their gluten free pizza is the best in the world!
    July 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Heather F.
    You stand in line to order then (when busy) a hostess shows you a table for your party. Drinks are self serve at a nice bar. Great beer and cocktail selection. You sit at your table (with a #) and wait to be served. It makes the end of the meal so nice because you can just get up and leave without worrying about paying. The food was delicious. Fresh, rich ingredients and we'll executed. I was very impressed with this place and would highly recommend. Also most excellent for kids! Ours joined us and said it was "awesome". Go!
    July 12, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ryan W.
    We like the occasional stop here. Fresh wood fired pizza. Can be a little skimpy on the toppings depending on which pizza you order.
    July 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie G.
    So damn good. Great pizza, creative toppings, super fast service. Salads are good, too. Polite, helpful servers. Prices are reasonable. So happy to find this place. Saw their ad in Edible Magazine. So much better than Marino's, everywhere, or Pizza Dive in Beavercreek. Lots of young families. Beer and wine, too.
    July 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Christina S.
    Great atmosphere, incredible artisan pizzas, and local craft beer. Super friendly staff.
    July 4, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Rachael L.
    Old Scratch is delicious. They are always busy when we go but it's definitely worth standing in line for. They work quickly to get you through and seated. My kids and I also love the ice cream they have there. Our favorites are the Beekeeper and the Prosciutto and Arugula. My boyfriend hates vegetables and the way they design their pizzas has gotten him to enjoy eating some again.
    July 3, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Erin Y.
    Fun atmosphere and actual real dough gluten free pizza! Not the typical frozen crust! It was great and fun with the family!
    July 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Christine H.
    Nice atmosphere, good pizza. Gluten free options which are pretty average but tablemates very happy with their pies and apps. Has beer too!
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Hannah W.
    This place is the bomb.com!! Ate here for the first time today and loved it so much I decided to have my rehearsal dinner here! Great beers on tap, hearty salads, and a great selection of pizza! My family and I got (I can't remember the name) the pizza with the house made spicy honey, the pizza with the house made sausage and meatballs, and the white pizza with mushrooms. All were to DIE for! Love how airy and flavorful the crust is. We also got the roasted cauliflower which is an ABSOLUTE must!! As if the cauliflower alone wasn't delicious, it's served with a delicious remoulade that takes it to the next level!
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Michelle H.
    Their GF pizza is spectacularly awesome, as is all of their food, IMHO. Honestly, if I didn't remember what I had ordered, I wouldn't have even known it was gluten-free crust. Try to keep your toppings to around 3-4, though, or the crust can get a little soppy/droopy (yet still freaking awesome). This place is definitely a contender for best pizza in Dayton, and that's saying a lot!
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Bryana H.
    I'm obsessed with this place! The Brussel Crowe Pizza and the House Salad are what I get everytime. The House Salad is the best salad on the face of the Earth! Definitely have to try it. The place is really cute and clean. Also it's really easy to place an order online and to just pick it up. Try this place!
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Rick M.
    I always enjoy the roasted cauliflower, which is enough of an app for 4 if not 6 people. Best margherita pizza in town by far!
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Charles M.
    Good brew & pizza. Some speakers outside with music playing would complete the atmosphere.
    June 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Karie M.
    Love this place! Drinks and all food are just fantastic, friendly staff and clean environment make it an all around winner!
    June 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mimbi S.
    There is both indoor and outdoor seating and my personal favorite - a large u-shaped bar where you can skip that initial line entirely and instead place your order directly with the bar staff instead of before seating. I like having time to consider the menu as well as making my drink selection(s) to pair with the food order, so this will likely be my go-to method for future visits but I recognize it's not for everyone or for large groups.
    June 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Chris C.
    Absolutely delicious meatballs, fantastic pizzas, my wife loves the roasted cauliflower, good beer selection. I've never had anything less than amazing to eat here. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. Prices are reasonable.
    June 27, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Latasha A.
    We stumbled upon this place because of the great reviews and we were really in the mood for pizza! We have had fire cooked pizza before and so we knew what we were looking for.. we were very happily surprised by this place! Not only did it offer delicious pizzas that had a lot of variety, but also beers as well. It was a very casual location and we tell Eric comfortable being there. There were also some people who are working so it seemed like a very friendly co-working space as well.
    June 26, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lisa R.
    I absolutely love this establishment! The pizza is fantastic (and I hate pizza). The people are amazing as is the atmosphere here. Great selection of craft beer or an ice cold Bud Light if you prefer as I do. I could eat here everyday, since that's not practical I'll get stop in next time I need a pizza fix . This is the ONLY pizza I eat
    June 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Oscar B.
    Very good service and great variety of beer and great pizza.Great atmosphere for a family group or happy hour
    June 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dee F.
    Great signature salads and lots of great pizzas to choose from. Woodfired pizza is fantastic.
    June 21, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Hanna F.
    I was dining with my dad. We shared an apple bacon ranch salad, and the angry bee keeper. The salad was fresh and perfectly crunchy and the pizza had a nice sweet to heat ratio. I would come back to try the weekly specials. I also appreciated the Dayton hospitality and the clean tasting filtered water was a plus
    June 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nancy R.
    Great menu, greater pizza, even greater ambiance and expanded menu. This was my first visit but definitely will not be my last. I finally stopped by "Old Scratch" and fell in love with the restaurant format, staff and selections. My only suggestion other than "come hungry" is to allow / plan time to find parking - but parking is available nearby and easy to navigate. The format is really nice and flows really well. You enter the restaurant, place your order immediately (waiting in a line that moves quickly) and find your own table, fetch your own drinks and the staff brings your order as it is available (expertly timed, by the way) to the number stand where you are seated. There is both indoor and outdoor seating and my personal favorite - a large u-shaped bar where you can skip that initial line entirely and instead place your order directly with the bar staff instead of before seating. I like having time to consider the menu as well as making my drink selection(s) to pair with the food order, so this will likely be my go-to method for future visits but I recognize it's not for everyone or for large groups. The .pdf version of menus for food, drink and beer is online: oldscratchpizza.com/welc… We each selected a beverage from the very impressive beer menu as we finalized our food order: His: Warped Wing Baltic Argonaut rye whiskey barrel Porter · 11.5% · Dayton, OH Mine: Wolf's Ridge Watchtower ESB ESB · 5.2% · Columbus, OH Beer menu: beermenus.com/places/379… We each had a half salad as a starter: His: APPLEWOOD-BACON RANCH - half ($6) Applewood-smoked bacon, romaine, purple cabbage, almonds, cherry tomato, crouton, romano, buttermilk ranch, warm bread Mine: CAESAR - half ($5) Romaine, parmesan, house-made dressing, croutons, warm bread We shared the "Angry Beekeeper" pizza and it was darn near perfect. I particularly enjoyed the drizzle of spicy honey "hot honey" and added a bit of crushed red pepper to my slice(s): ANGRY BEEKEEPER $12 Tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella, basil, spicy salami, house-made hot honey, olive oil Overall a truly great experience - outstanding food, friendly and knowledgeable staff and the meal was timed perfectly and I enjoyed the restaurant ambiance very much. The pizza arrived shortly after we finished our starter and we would have finished the pizza entirely if I hadn't indulged in a roasted broccolini platter we were given during our starter course. (Taking a single slice of pizza out in a piece of foil is a walk of shame I am not above, but my SO carried it out of the restaurant)
    June 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Emily L.
    We got the Mr. Scratch pizza and it was THE BEST pizza I have ever had!! Have heard that the Brooklyn is also very good. Will be coming here a lot more often. I suggest you each get your own though rather than sharing... it’s just that good. The service was also very nice and the atmosphere is pretty low key yet kid friendly.
    June 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cris S.
    Went for a Friday night bite and brew with family. Intriguing and interesting place. An old gas station converted into an interesting pizza parlor. Nothing fancy, picnic tables to eat on, but interesting and fresh pizza. Started with …More
    June 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lizz B.
    I was recommended by my two beautiful daughters to try out this pizza place. I found it overflowing with guests and very lively on my first few visits. It is all very well organized, and the menu is huge as far as types of pizzas available. …More
    June 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Justine W.
    Delicious hand crafted pizza and salads They also have wide selection of beers. Awesome customer service! We'll definitely going back!
    June 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    xfeatherfootx
    Old Scratch pizza is an overall wonderful experience. From the atmosphere to the food you cannot go wrong. Highly recommended.
    June 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Eileen R.
    We eat here once or twice a week and we are never disappointed. It's definitely my favorite lunch spot. The pizza's are fantastic and they have a pretty good selection of beers and ciders. It's a super relaxed atmosphere; you can eat at the …More
    June 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    David E.
    Super, super busy, but excellent pizza and drinks. Recommended for a sit down dinner with a friend or kids if you want an informal, yet professional setting. This is not quite gourmet pizza and it's not quite street style Philly or Brooklyn …More
    June 9, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    A A.
    Neapolitan-esque pizza. Amazing and unique pizza and salads Chewy crust achieved from 800-degree wood fired oven. Rotating beer selection.
    June 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Evelyn G.
    Best pizza ever and one of the best restaurants in Dayton. Amazing beer selection. Great salads. Not sure what else to say. I look forward to every visit.
    June 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Lady W.
    Pizza parlor with a spacious area. It has a patio which is perfect for the spring and summer weather. I had the chance to try their pizzas with a group of friends of mine. We went here last Thursday at around 7 pm in the evening. We occupied one table since we are a group of five people. Their tables, by the way, are picnic tables so they are those long ones with benches as seats. They have a parking space beside their building which is very convenient. Although it is limited and can get full quickly especially during peak hours. We ordered three different flavors of pizzas to share with each other. Apart from pizzas they also offer salads, fire-roasted veggies, and gluten-free and vegan options too. They have wine, beer, punch, and some others for drinks. What we ordered for the pizza flavors are one SOPHIE MAE for 11$ which includes red onion jam, applewood-smoked bacon, fresh mozzarella, romano. One BROOKLYN for $13 which is a pizza made of tomato sauce, fresh mozzarella, basil, housemade meatball and sausage and one ELLIOT CHEESE PIZZA for 9.5$ which is also a vegetarian pizza. The pizzas were all served hot and freshly made on the spot. It was smelling very deliciously the moment it was placed on our table. It was a perfect combination for my bloody mary drink. The crust were all perfectly cooked and not too much-burnt areas. Sauces were all the right amount including the toppings. The price is also perfect for the serving size of each pizza. If you are craving for pizzas this is a good place.
    June 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Carrie M.
    Really cool place to go to! The pizza was the best I've had in a long while! I'm definitely going there again!
    May 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jon F.
    Great place for, well, pizza and beer. You can taste many of the craft beers they have on tap to find the one that strikes home with you. The Dayton pizza is our favorite and we love the grilled head of cauliflower!! Great atmosphere too!!!
    May 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alaina S.
    Everything here is awesome! I dream about the Angry Beekeeper pizza regularly, the veggie plates are always outstanding, and the beer selection is pretty great too. Outdoor patio, shareable veggies, pizza and beer - what's not to love?
    May 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mac G.
    I have visited Old Scratch just about every time I come to Dayton. It's a trendy pizza spot with an impressive 24 or so brews on tap. They range from a zippy IPA from Ohio to a heavy one from Maryland and everything far and wide. The pizza …More
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jordan H.
    Fantastic restaurant, but the patio door could sure use a Step N Pull for the wait staff...
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Michael S.
    Went to Dayton on a business trip, decided to try this place out. Seriously, the best Caesar salad I have ever had! I have been trying to find a place that is as good but no luck. Two sizes for the salads in big bowls (go for the big one). Pizza is good but damn, that salad!! 👌
    May 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nina G.
    We eat here once or twice a week and we are never disappointed. It's definitely my favorite lunch spot. The pizza's are fantastic and they have a pretty good selection of beers and ciders. It's a super relaxed atmosphere; you can eat at the …More
    May 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Tom N.
    Great pizza and atmosphere but they need to do something about how long it takes to take a customer's order. How about you have employees go through the line and start taking orders from people standing there. Of course, you might have to enlarge your seating area.
    May 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Philip G.
    Busy place, but very accommodating. Pizza was amazing. Tried several times and looked them all.
    May 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ryan P.
    The only pizza place for me in the Dayton area, angry bee keeper keeps me coming back..one week I had it 3 nights in a row..lol
    May 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Samuel S.
    Pizza was really good. But I have had better that is why I am giving it 4 . But it is worth trying.
    May 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    graham k.
    Great pie, perfect crust. Atmosphere was great as well. Highly recommended
    May 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Louisa T.
    Food is great. Had the baked cauliflower appetizer and it was delicious. Salad was excellent too. Pizzas are tasty, especially the crust, with the perfect mix of crispy bottom and soft, chewy crust. Would like to see a few more vegetarian pizza options on the menu though. I went with the margherita pizza and it was simple, but good. My only complaint is being corralled in a long line when you first enter the restaurant. And we went fairly early on a Saturday, about 5-ish and it was super busy. You read the menu while in line, then place your order at the counter. In the meantime, you hope to snag a seat in the dining area, which mainly consists of picnic table style seating. There are hosts to assist with this though. If you want adult beverages, you have to get in a separate line at the bar. It seems preferable to get seated first, to have time to read the menu, and then to have servers take orders. All in all, the food is good. They seem to be doing great business, so check it out and support local. :)
    April 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alexander M.
    Went here for the first time the other day. The pizza and salad we're both very tasty. Fun "brewery like" environment and an excellent beer selection!
    April 28, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    J c.
    Pizza is very good. Salads as well. Appetizers could be better. Staff is friendly. Nice atmosphere. Great beer selection. Line/wait can be a bit long at times.
    April 26, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer S.
    We had the shroom pizza and the whole roasted cauliflower and both were amazing. Service was quick and friendly. The draft beer selection was really good as well. Many local breweries were offered which I enjoy. We loved sitting on the patio and the picnic table seating. I will definitely be going back to try more of their menu items.
    April 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Christina F.
    Spectacular food! Finally good pizza and salads. Love the ice cream for a cause!
    April 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ralph K.
    Went for a Friday night bite and brew with family. Intriguing and interesting place. An old gas station converted into an interesting pizza parlor. Nothing fancy, picnic tables to eat on, but interesting and fresh pizza. Started with appetizers, stracciatella (cheese curd with honey, pistachios and basil) which was fantastic and meatballs. We tried the 'shroom pizza, which is a white pizza style with olive oil, roasted forest mushrooms, fresh mozzarella, roasted garlic, thyme, white truffle oil. Nice combination on a great shell. Daughter and son-in-law had the Brooklyn, a tomato sauce, house-made sausage and sliced meatball, fresh mozzarella, basil, olive oil. Decent price for a 12" pizza. Great beer selection (20 varieties). Interesting seating arrangement in that as you wait in line to place your order, they assign you a table. Get there early (before 5) to avoid the long lines.
    April 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nicholas M.
    First visit but really enjoyed a lot of aspects from Old Scratch. Traditional idea of pizza and beer kicked up a notch with fresh, in-house made pizza... drafts galore on tap both local and nationwide. Pizza was great and enjoyed a cream ale. They also do a promotion of a charitable donation "of the month." You purchase an ice cream cone by making a monetary donation, the amount you chose, which was also a delight. Seating was cafeteria style, bar tops and tables outside as well. Clean bathrooms -- family friendly.
    April 19, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Josher L.
    Everything here is good. Cauliflower is good. Pizza is good. Salads are good. Good stuff!
    April 18, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Mary S.
    Roasted cauliflower was excellent. I appreciate the vegan options. Would like to suggest having vegan cheese.
    April 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Lily M.
    We were in Dayton Ohio for a family members performance and we were trying to find a place to eat for lunch. We stumbled upon this place because of the great reviews and we were really in the mood for pizza! We have had fire cooked pizza before and so we knew what we were looking for.. we were very happily surprised by this place! Not only did it offer delicious pizzas that had a lot of variety, but also beers as well. It was a very casual location and we tell Eric comfortable being there. There were also some people who are working so it seemed like a very friendly co-working space as well. I gave it four stars because it was not the best pizza I have ever had but it was definitely pretty tasty! The staff was very helpful in recommending pizza so if you are looking to figure out what you want, ask the staff!
    April 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Andrea E.
    Such a fun place with truly tasty pizza! Cannot wait to go back! Liked the counter ordering, unique flavor combos, and vibe of the restaurant. Keep up the great work!
    April 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kebin U.
    I heard this was the best pizza in Dayton...it was definitely great with the selection. Alot of unique options
    April 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Christopher N.
    Amazing pizza and great craft beer. Just make sure to sit outside as the indoors gets loud really easily
    April 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amy W.
    Great food and atmosphere! Beer choice is fantastic too!!! We Will definitely be back ☺
    April 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lauren S.
    Pizza was amazing.. the atmosphere is noisy and a bit chaotic. Servers were nice and did well. Rating based on the food. Wait was a little long.
    April 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Allison W.
    Delicious pizza and great selection of craft beer, everyone is very friendly. Pizza is quick to make, longer time waiting to order than waiting on pizza.
    April 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Millard M.
    Old Scratch was EXCELLENT. I have only ordered carryout, and someone else hs picked it up, but so I really cannot comment on the service, but it was ready on time and was one of, if not the best pizza I have ever ordered. The flavors were strong, the texture was just right. This is what I was looking for in a pizza! It is exactly what I was promised at Dewey's pizza, but did not receive. My new favorite pizza!
    April 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sharon L.
    Delightful atmosphere, great food, attentive staff and fantastic beer selection. The salad was hands down my favorite! Strongly recommend.
    April 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Chris M.
    Pizza ingredients are high quality for sure. The sauce is simple and fresh and tastes good. Pizza dough is harder to describe. It's just not as crispy or well done as you'd like to see for the kind of ovens they are cooking in. The end product leaves a little to be desired in my opinion. With that said, don't get me wrong, it's good pizza and worth checking out if your haven't tried it. Overall I would also say it's a little overpriced considering the size of the 12 inch pizzas. If your family eats big, you will need a lot of pizzas. The salads are very fresh and tasty.
    April 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joseph T.
    Went to support the We Care Arts take over. Really awesome place, salad and pizza was amazing. Dressings made in house.
    April 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    michael s.
    Great atmosphere and pizza..fast service. Fresh ingredients. Many many beers on tap. Great for families and friends.
    April 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Matt C.
    Hot diggity, this place is fabulous. Easily my favorite pizza place in the Dayton area. Prices are a little high for beer and what not, but the pizza is wonderful. Great crust, solid and unique ingredients, nice sauces and quick service. Staff has always been pretty courteous. Also, the cauliflower and salads are great side items.
    April 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jared M.
    Great beer selection and great pizza. Both drinks and food are affordable for quality. The ambiance is open and inviting. This is a popular place and a great asset for Dayton.
    April 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    John B.
    Best pizza in town and outstanding beer selection... staff is great... 6 stars if they had the option.
    April 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Tuggie I.
    Love the pizza, just wish they had more veggie toppings. The salads look delicious, I'm definitely getting salad next time. I'm not crazy about the picnic table and chairs, parking was a nightmare but well worth it.
    March 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Arthur S.
    The best gluten free pizza crust that I've had! Good atmosphere and decent prices also.
    March 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Deborah A.
    The owners of Old Scratch Puzza are fabulous and take great pride in their restaurant. Delicious and creative variety of pizza. Very clean and family friendly. Definitely 5 stars!
    March 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Matthew R.
    Old Scratch Pizza and Beer is an amazing restaurant that doubles down on its namesake. The pizzas are baked with freshly made everything, from hand tossed dough to thick cuts of fresh mozzarella, these pizzas are to die for. As for beer, Old Scratch has a rotating selection of about 20 different craft beers ranging from lagers to porters, sour ales to ciders. The bartenders are great and will let you sample so you know you'll love what you get. The set up and decor feels like a modern take on the beer Haus, with open, industrial space filled with solid picnic style tables that are great for groups both big and small. Their pizza is so good, my two year old loves going here too!
    March 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joan C.
    Great food. A bunch of relaxed people
    March 10, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nathan B.
    Great pizza and beer. The bartenders and other staff are always very kind. Definitely worth the wait.
    March 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Desiree W.
    Great selection.... Solid Pizza; Good crust, and the pizza is all fresh, unlike a lot of other places in this area.
    March 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Skeeter S.
    Simple interior design, community type eating on picnic tables or at the bar... but the Pizza is fantastic and always trying something new. Try the cauliflower appetizer but bring a friend it's amazing! And ice cream for charitys for dessert... just a cool spot
    March 4, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jim B.
    Pizza was good, lots of variety. A little salty for my taste. Good place for families.
    March 4, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Johnathon B.
    Amazing! Cleanliness of establishment, excellent knowledgeable service, and welcoming environment. You definitely cannot go wrong with this establishment! And the food is absolutely incredible :-)
    March 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Eric H.
    It was definitely interesting. The pizza was good, a little squishy for my taste. A great beer selection. The food wad fast.
    February 28, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dennis M.
    Good pizza, service, and beer selection. Not much more you could ask for. Oh the salads are good too if you're into that sort of thing.
    February 27, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Rene B.
    A really fun place. Interesting items in their menu and a great selection of beer. Their home made sausage was good yet I found the items on the pizza, like cheese, is spotty on the pizza so if you like cheese all over, ask for it.
    February 26, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Josh B.
    Unique atmosphere, family friendly, great food & staff
    February 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Bryan H.
    One of the best pizzas in Dayton. I love Naples style pizza!
    February 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jewel N.
    Absolutely tasty pizza and salad, definitely a fun, laid back environment to spend time with friends or family!
    February 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Michael D.
    Amazing bas always. Great vegan options.
    February 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Zach F.
    Love this place! I stop in time to time and never disappointed. They have a great craft beer selection. The salads are awesome. And the pizzas are the best part. Give the angry beekeeper a try if you stop by.
    February 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Marian M.
    I really liked it. Pizza menu was unique and a really good beer selection. I'd give 4.5 if I could.
    February 12, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Christie L.
    Wood fired pizza - Get in my belly! So good. My only regret is that I didn't go sooner. One of my new favorite napoleon-style pizzas. If you can make a cheese pizza taste that good, I can't wait to try more.
    February 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Sarah H.
    Pretty good pizza, but wasn't mind blowing. Nice, lively atmosphere.
    February 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Daniel S.
    The line was out the door. It was well worth the 8 minute wait to get the stracciatella and mr. Scratch Pizza. The food was phenomenal. The atmosphere was really neat. I will be frequenting
    February 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alicia W.
    Great pizza and friendly environment. Perfect for group get-togethers! All staff were friendly!
    January 31, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Richard S.
    Great unique pizzas and salads. Good selection of libations. Kid friendly.
    January 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ashley D.
    Hands down, best pizza in Dayton! I would eat it everyday if I was allowed lol! Awesome customer service as well!
    January 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Karen G.
    Stopped in for lunch last week. Friendly staff and amazing pizza! Glad we found this place. The white pizza with mushrooms and truffle oil is a must try.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Daisy A.
    Always fresh and delicious, and the workers there are always friendly and helpful.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Donald J.
    Great wood fired pizzas. Huge craft beer selection, and cocktails. Bright and airy.
    January 21, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Michaela K.
    Decided to try this cool-looking Pizza after looking it up on Google maps. The food was great, the Angry Beekeeper was delicious and very satisfying! Never thought honey on pizza would taste so good! A very clean establishment and personable staff. Only wish is that they would offer more sizes, they strictly make 12" pizzas and 8" as a lunch special, so this is better to do if you want a personal pizza or share with two people. Large area, open seating is great for big crowds. Though consider carpooling on a friday night or when it gets busy, due to a lack of parking. Overall a great experience.
    January 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ann B.
    Best restaurant!!! Drinks and food always great. We opt for the food specials each time, cannot go wrong for the daring eater!
    January 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jake M.
    This place is amazing! The pizza with white sauce and arugula is delicious. Great beer selection. Casual vibe. You can watch you pizzas bake in their ovens. One of the managers (Erin Rogers) was extremely helpful. The only thing keeping me from five stars is that you can't call in an order, it's in person or online only.
    January 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ashley L.
    If you're adventurous with your pizza, I recommend the beekeeper pizza. I was skeptical at first, but it was so good! I've also had the margherita pizza and enjoyed it. Good beer selection. Open dinning. Chill atmosphere. You definitely need to try it.
    January 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Heather F.
    This is absolutely our go to pizza place in the Dayton area! Wood fired pizza, great selection of specialty toppings, usually fast and always friendly. My favorites are the Angry Beekeeper and the prosciutto and arugula pizzas. We also usually get one of their salads and the roasted olives. I also love their veg specials and they have a pizza special as well. Both are always unique. They also have 20 different craft beers (mostly local) on tap. When you get there, you order and then sit down with a number. They will bring out your items to enjoy! If there isn't a wait, you can grab a seat wherever, if it is super busy, they will seat you, but it is usually not long of a wait! They have a nice patio when the weather is warm as well!
    January 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Katie M.
    This place is great! Fun and casual atmosphere with great food and drink options. The whole roasted cauliflower is to die for! It is always perfectly cooked, I highly recommend ordering one, you won't be disappointed. I've tried a few of their pizzas, and my favorite is by far the Shroom.
    January 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Zach H.
    My new favorite pizza place in Dayton. Some of their pizzas have some "interesting" toppings but great in combination. Their appetizers alone could have me coming back as well. Beer selection wasn't too shabby either. Great restaurant all around and will definitely be returning.
    December 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mark J.
    Pizza is amazing! I had the Brooklyn and figured I'd have some to take home... yeah, no. Beer list is good. Thought there were more choices before but it still runs the gamut.
    December 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Angelina H.
    My first time there. Lunch special was good value. Loved the salad dressing and the pizza was hot and lite. Will go back for sure!
    December 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    A U.
    Everyone said this was the place for pizza and we weren't disappointed! I had the special sausage/sweet potato and the wife had prosciutto/arugula and they were both excellent. Also have to say the baked olives were fantastic. Good variety of craft beers and I thought service was attentive and engaged, esp when we told them it was our first time. Manager came around to ask about the pizza so I thought it was great they are looking at quality on different levels. Only caution I have would be about wait times---try to get there before 6 as I've seen a line out the door or order take out. I can see why this is a local favorite....Definitely recommend and we'll be back!
    December 19, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Caleb Z.
    Modern pizza and beer place, open floor plan, mostly communal table seating. Limited menu, but the pizza I got, the one with honey on it was very tasty and they had a reasonable craft beer selection with different styles. If you want a more personal setting I would not use this as a first option, but it would be a great place to get food with a group.
    December 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ricardo D.
    Good pizza place with beer on tap. Nice location for groups and watching sports. Several tables outside if the weather is right. Great service ... all very friendly.
    December 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jason M.
    Best pizza place I've had in dayton area by far. Great beer selection. Always a fun olace to bring guest or meet friends. My kids love it here too.
    December 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alyssa P.
    The online ordering system was very easy to navigate and my order was ready and waiting for me when I arrived. This pizza is fantastic, and it wasn't even hot and fresh by the time I had a chance to eat it. I definitely want to come back and eat in next time!
    December 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jessica L.
    Great pizza. Yummy cocktails. And cute bartender. :-)
    December 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    RICH S.
    No complaints on this quiet Tuesday night. Probably way more packed on the weekends but everything was great. The atmosphere was spot on and the staff was solid. Food was excellent.
    December 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Rita G.
    Unique pizza option in Dayton - definitely follow their instagram account to see what the pizza special is. I love their local partnerships and ingredients, and it's an especially nice trip when the weather is warm and they open up the windows and patio.
    December 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Paul B.
    Great experience. Very friendly staff. And very good food. All fresh!
    December 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Patricia M.
    I just moved to the area and we found Old Scratch... I've gone back to pick up to go orders three times. The cauliflower is amazing! All the pizzas we have tried are tasty!
    November 28, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Erin K.
    We went here for the first time with a group of about 12 on Thanksgiving Eve. The set up was great for a group our size where everyone could order food and drinks at their own pace, on their own tabs. The pizzas were tasty & a reasonable size for the price. Appetizers were solid. Rotating beer list was varied & solid. Will definitely be back next time I'm in town.
    November 24, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alyssa P.
    Old Scratch is exactly what Dayton needed. Chain pizza places are kinda gross in my opinion, so the Neapolitan-style pies were a welcomed change to the area. Super casual, order-at-the-counter spot with communal picnic bench seating. Pizza selection is super unique, the ingredients are always fresh, and I haven't had a bad pie yet. Angry Beekeeper is HIGHLY recommended. The bar is always serving up 15+ amazing in-season beers on tap, which is truly what makes this place my favorite. Online ordering for pickup is super easy to use, plus they send monthly deals out to loyal customers. Also, great patio in the warmer months!
    November 19, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer D.
    Fresh, fast and fun! This is our favorite pizza place in Dayton. Fresh, reasonably priced salads and pizzas. Self serve sodas, opening seating, no frills. The wood-fired pizzas are customizable or choose from one of their delicious concoctions (Angry Beekeeper is a favorite with spicy honey drizzled over fresh mozzarella, basil and salami). We usually order a couple pizzas to share and a half salad to start. The salads are unique and fresh and a $6 half salad is enough for two. They also serve a good selection of beers and other legal beverages.
    November 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ken T.
    Atmosphere is on the industrial side, but the pizza is good, the staff is excellent. If you are a beer drinker, they have a good selection of craft on tap.
    November 15, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer S.
    Outstanding pizza. Everyone in our group looked the pizzas they tried. Classics and inventive combos available. Tons of family style seating at indoor picnic tables. Place was packed and parking lot was full, but there was on street parking.
    November 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amanda L.
    Literally the best gluten free pizza crust I have ever had! It actually tastes like pizza crust, not cardboard! +1 for the amazing combination of flavors in the Angry Beekeeper and another +1 for vegetarian options... the roasted cauliflower is particularly fantastic! I have never been here when it wasn't insanely busy so come prepared to wait... it's worth it.
    November 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Kevin P.
    Non-traditional thin crust style pizza. Very good food and a decent selection of beer. The house salad us excellent. Very quick service the day we visited.
    November 4, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Angela
    My 1st visit at the recommendation of my co-worker and what a 1st visit! Just happened to go today and what do you know?! It was the company's birthday and they had 2.00 large pizzas! I ordered the margherita pizza but made the mistake (or was it?) of ordering the side salad which was huge and delicious so I haven't even tasted my pizza yet but it looks even better than the salad if that's at all possible. Can't wait to enjoy for dinner. Will definitely be back with my husband. I didn't get to try any drinks since I had to return to work so I'd like to try that as well. Awesome atmosphere!!
    October 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Gina S.
    Great pizza and I love the salad! Highly recommended!
    October 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sid S.
    Dictionary definition pizza. It tastes very fresh, real no science. Ordering is super efficient since your not dependent on a server but food is brought to you. Tons of beers to choose from which is always a good thing. Pictures here is the Dayton pizza and a delicious Hefeweizen. The ONLY negative is....when you eat all your pizza bc it was so darn good.
    October 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Matt S.
    Without a doubt, this is my favorite pizza in Dayton. In fact, my favorite pie at Old Scratch is called “The Dayton,” and consists of crust, sauce, cheese, and pepperoni. That’s it. This pizza is proof that if you use high quality ingredients, you don’t need a dozen fancy toppings to make good pizza. Old Scratch also has an excellent beer menu. Beware: on weekends, this place gets super busy, but it is worth the wait!
    October 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Isabel B.
    Old scratch Pizza has great customer service. But the best part is the food. From th crust to the toppings it's all good. The environment is lively and it majes you feel like you're at a party on the weekend: even though it's a cloudy Tuesday evening. Lots of people having fun enjoying the food
    September 26, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tany H.
    We had the angry beekeeper pizza, and it was great. Well done everyone. It is nice to have areal pizza. I hope that more and more people will come to appreciate what you guys are doing, and drive chain pizza places out of business. Keep on doing what you are doing.
    September 13, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Krista B.
    Best pizza in town. Salad was great too! I'll be there as often as I can. Also, a huge thumbs up for their cones for a cause. Ice cream for donations to a local charity which changes monthly. Nothing is better than pizza and philanthropy!
    September 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Claire
    I feel like I've tried all the gluten-free pizzas in Dayton, and this is the only place I'll get pizza. PEOPLE - it's an actual crust! It is soft and delicious and definitely not cracker-like. It even beats most of the gluten-filled crusts I used to like before my allergy developed. I come here once a week and it's always so delicious. Everyone there is very nice and the orders always come out perfectly. Hands down the best gluten-free pizza (ever). Try the hot honey on your pizza- it's not that spicy and the sweetness is amazing!
    September 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Charlie T.
    Came for pub run with my daughter this is definitely a place to visit! Great food great service! Erin was super friendly and very professional, all staff was great 5 stars ! Should be the icon of a place to visit if in Dayton!
    September 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alex D.
    Their pizza is very very good. It's a little pricey for pizza but you will fill up for around $10 a person. The atmosphere is fun and different. I would recommend you try it at least once and I'm sure it will make it into you pizza rotation
    September 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Traycie K.
    Love the environment of this place! Almost feels like you’re in your own kitchen at home with all the laughter and vibes that happen at this restaurant! I highly recommend the angry beekeeper pizza and the applewood bacon ranch salad! HALF ORDER is plenty for 2 people! Had a wonderful evening meeting with the Dayton pub run crew and ending with this delicious pizza and beer selection. We come here quite often and the staff is great!
    September 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Pete K.
    The Pizza is great. Lots of craft beers. Small bar also. Seating is a little different. You spent like on park benches but it's actually a fun atmosphere. I go back anytime
    August 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    CJ J.
    Tons of options. Great atmosphere. Super quick service. Definitely one of our Dayton favs!
    August 26, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Schuyler R.
    Always a pleaser. My favorite pizza in Dayton! High quality ingredients, pizzas come out hot and fresh every time to your table. Don’t mind the wait, it’s worth it! I have mastered the fold! Also, they have a wide variety of beers on tap and a masterly crafted menu of cocktails. This place is great for larger groups due to the open style seating, but also great for date nights!
    August 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kaitlin S.
    This place is awesome! I eat gluten free and often gluten free pizza leaves more than a little something to be desired but the gluten free pizza here is AMAZING! You wouldn't know you were eating something without wheat!
    August 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dean L.
    Fabulous pizza and great bar. We had dinner on a Tuesday evening with our son. We took the recommendation of friends and tried the roasted cauliflower. The huge head was browned on the outside and cooked warm and soft on the inside. A spicy mayo-based dipping sauce added a nice flavor. We ordered the Brooklyn, with sausage and other toppings sufficient for two. We got our son a cheese pizza from the kids menu, and he had leftover slices to take away. We had a great dinner, and will return.
    August 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Bob H.
    What a great place! Friendly staff, great menu and a great place to meet new people! Loved the blackened cauliflower! Craft beers are awesome as well. A must go-to when you’re in Dayton,
    August 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tammy K.
    Very good pizza at an excellent price, perfect size for 2. Enjoy a peach margarita!
    August 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Rashel R.
    I loved it ! Qiuck, clean, convenient. The pizza was the best I’ve had in a long time. I will definitely go back soon. It was difficult to find, and I don’t know my way around downtown. Maybe they should put their logo or a sign on the side of the building where it is just painted gray.
    August 4, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lynn L.
    Great food, great atmosphere! Staff was awesome! Will definitely go back!
    July 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Doris E.
    We thought we would try it after the Dragons game. Very very (different) good pizza. We'll go again. :)
    July 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Chris S.
    Thank you Ben; the gluten free pizza is the best I have had and can’t tell the difference of regular pizza! Wished I lived in Dayton!
    July 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cheryl L.
    Great food. Fun atmosphere. The peach margarita... yum! 😋
    July 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Anne K.
    Love the pepperoni pizza, meatballs appetizer, will have to go back to try more pizza. Friendly staff. Clean place. Easy walk up to order. You will love this pizza place!! ���
    July 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Chloe R.
    Went here for the first time on Tuesday for a 4Paws for Ability outing and everyone was so accommodating, and friendly. The food was delicious! Will definitely be back!
    July 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sara N.
    Great food, great atmosphere love coming here
    July 23, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jodie G.
    Went for dinner tonight, and i do not eat bread. I ordered the italian sandwich no bread. I asked for it on romaine lettuce. They were very accommodating, and even heated it up. They also brought out a cup of olive oil for my dressing. Love how they were so willing to work with me. Definitely think they should add my meal to menu ��
    July 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jennifer H.
    Shareables 4 meatballs and the classic salad 1/2 size. The salad can feed 2-3 people if you are having pizza too. We also got a margarita pie delicious. I forgot to get a picture before we devoured it. Oh well next time. Great staff and atmosphere family friendly even though it was just the two of us "date night".
    July 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sean S.
    WOW! AWESOME! Great vibe, pizza, and beer! A great place to bring a large group - the picnic tables seat 6-8 comfortably. Pizza was very good - I had basically a pepperoni with honey - it was very good. Ordering at the counter makes the atmosphere very laid back. Great selection of on-tap beer. A great place for a mid-week beer and pizza. Good for both families and beer snobs!
    July 11, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jake H.
    Had the Brooklyn style pizza and it was really delicious and the service was excellent
    July 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Neil S.
    This place is so amazing! Bartenders are knowledgable with the beers and the pizza! They suggested a bacon ranch salad and it was delish! The half salad gave us enough for 2 people to share which was just perfect! I am not a fan of thin crust pizza but hold the phone! This was the expection! I mean this! Crust was hand made and tossed. Just real good ingredients! Staff and others around us just as friendly as they can be! It was just a delight to dine! Thank you Old Stratch!
    July 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Paula B.
    Brussels sprouts pizza was amazing! Great service also.
    July 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Beau L.
    Amazing pizza and great atmosphere!
    June 27, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Timothy N.
    Great crafted beers and great pizza!
    June 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ann B.
    It was our first time. Pizza was really good... Loved it being cooked on open fire. Service was great too. I wish I knew Habitat was going to be there I would of loved percentage of our purchase to go to them...�
    June 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Brittany R.
    Awesome pizza ....cooked to order and I love the signature pizzas!! Can't wait to try strawberry fields forever
    June 17, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mandi S.
    Pretty cool environment! Pizza was delicious, even my picky eater kids loved it. They were very kid friendly. Mine enjoyed watching them make the pizzas and drawing on the clear glass with dry erase markers, even the manager commented on how great their drawings were and took pictures of them, they really liked that. We’ll definitely be back again!
    June 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jay F.
    This place rocks! This is our second time there and we've had great experiences both times. Their pizzas are great....and the beer selection is awesome. Tonight I had the BrewDog Juggernaut (Double IPA, 8.8%)...GREAT STUFF! I had the Brooklyn pizza, my wife had the Prosciutto Arugula, our older son had the Elliott (plain cheese), and our younger son had the Shorty (kids) pepperoni. All of them were amazing. The kids pizza is pretty big too...not the "standard" tiny pizza that many places sell as the kid's size. The staff is all over their game too....polite and professional all around. It was clear that the manager is on his game as well...engaging with the customers and the staff. That says a lot. It was clear that the employees are happy working there. That says a lot too. And the ice cream cones for a donation is the finishing touch. Great place, great food, great people, great vibe, great experience. THANKS!
    June 11, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kerrianne B.
    First experience- absolutely fantastic pizza! It tasted so fresh! We got the angry beekeeper and the shrimp special- both were out of this world! I don’t know what you’re feeding the staff, but every person we encountered was incredibly helpful and friendly. Maybe it’s b/c they get to eat incredible pizza every day, but they were all delightful! You have a great thing going- keep rocking it!
    June 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jenny H.
    Delicious! It was our first time there. Service was fast and everyone was very friendly. Great beer selection too 😁 will definitely be back!
    June 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Doug P.
    AMAZING crust. Unique flavorful toppings Great staff...great beer
    May 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tyler G.
    Great beer selection, delicious pizza, and charitable business! The trifecta!
    May 24, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Shelley B.
    Pizza was wonderful!!! Very nice place we will be back!!!
    May 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sheila P.
    Absolutely the best salad I have ever eaten. Bacon ranch salad. My O my ....perfect blend of lettuce, purple cabbage and magical ingredients. Pizza good too!
    May 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sara S.
    Great service, awesome tap list, and the pizza... omg. So good.
    April 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Marie S.
    Awesome! We were in the area looking for dinner, found this on our phone, saw good reviews, so checked it out (5 on a Saturday). The line was to the door and we were a little nervous (having kids) but regulars were near us and we overheard them saying the line may just take 15 minutes. A sign explained you order food before sitting and a host was reserving tables. I really liked that, because it took all that stress away from finding a seat. Lots of pizzas on menu that sounded delicious. You can open a tab while ordering food, hop to beer line and your tab is there! Love technology. :) Pizza was awesome (no complaints from kids). The staff was very friendly and very busy keeping the place clean. Great for all ages. Great beer selection. Looking forward to coming back! Keep up the great work!
    April 22, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Caleb H.
    They have a ton to pick from, and its all good. The only downside, they don't take call in orders or online orders on the weekends. So if you want a to go order, you have to wait inside then order (if its a weekend). Which if i could have called ahead, it would have saved me 40 minutes of waiting.
    April 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Steve M.
    I wish the pizzas were bigger, but the taste is as close to NYC pizza as I've come across. The roasted cauliflower was to die for. Fast and friendly.
    April 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Barry B.
    Excellent service, atmosphere, and a great pizza. We will definitely be back again !
    April 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dushi M.
    This review has been removed for violating our Terms of Service
    April 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Steve L.
    First timers for myself and a group of friends last night and it was pretty good. Lots of craft beers including my favorite domestic and the Brooklyn style pizza along with the service from your employees on deck that night was awesome. We'll definitely be back for sure :)
    April 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer J.
    Food was great and my boys had great time. They loved watching the staff make the pizza and the old school video games. Thank you for a great experience!
    April 5, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Marie G.
    Love this place! Hats off to Eric Soller! Glad we get to partake in your dream!
    March 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Penny E.
    My new favorite pizza! The red sauce is fresh, light, and not overly processed. The sausage is made in house and seasoned perfectly! I normally pick pepperonis off my pizza but not at Old Scratch Pizza! The pepperonis are small, full of flavor, and not overly greasy. The wait can be long but it’s worth it!
    March 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Nanda F.
    Pizzas delicious, relaxed atmosphere, and good attitudes. I got the angry beekeeper with honey, and finished the whole pie! I'm a fan
    March 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tyra T.
    Our department just had lunch there and for most of us it was our first visit. The food was awesome. Everything was good and the staff was great. I'm sure we will all be back soon.
    March 1, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Megan K.
    Great garage chilling atmosphere. Fantastic food. Great set up to get in and out for a quick lunch or sit and savor your dinner. Family friendly. Not had any food I didn't like. Bonus, they do a good job giving back to the community. If you are thinking about trying them, stop thinking...just do it, do it, do it!
    February 27, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jodee H.
    Great atmosphere, delicious pizza and fabulous beer selection. In town for softball, had eight 14-year old girls who didn’t leave anything but a few crusts and the parents all enjoyed the food and beer. We will be back next time we are in town.
    February 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Donna C.
    The. Best. Pizza. The sandwiches are great, too. The food is fresh and made to order. We don’t go anywhere else for pizza in Dayton.
    February 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jody A.
    This is an excellent gem Dayton has. One of the best pizzas I’ve ever had. Glad we had a chance to go. Jody-Nebraska
    February 19, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kenzie F.
    I love Old Scratch! Whenever I have out of town guests visiting, this is the first place I bring them! The atmosphere is so fun and modern! The pizza is incredible, cauliflower appetizer is a must-try and every single drink is strong and delicious. I am lactose intolerant and gluten sensitive and I can order the marinara pizza with gluten free crust and I don’t have to ask for any special requests!! The line does get pretty long but the hostesses do a great job letting people know where to sit and how long it will take. Can’t wait for the weather to warm up so we can sit on the porch!!
    February 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dave P.
    Great addition to the Dayton Pizza scene. House salad is awesome, pizza's are awesome, the beer selection is awesome and the atmosphere is awesome. Great to see the "footprint" of downtown options expanding further out. Keep up the great work.
    February 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Hollie M.
    We absolutely love this place! The variety of pizza and beer keeps it interesting for us and the staff is like family (We have adopted Erin). We come once a week and never a bad experience!
    February 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Casey S.
    I absolutely love OSP! I came the week they opened, and since then I've introduced SO many people to the amazingness that is OSP. I love their Cones for a Cause program and the fact they want to give back to the community! Thank you for a great meal and atmosphere!
    February 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jeff K.
    Best place to have fun with your family and eat the best pizza around. Have to stop bye!!
    February 5, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cara S.
    The pizzas and specials are so creative and delicious that my husband and I come almost weekly to get our fix, which says a lot for us as we enjoy cooking at home. After traveling to Italy multiple times, we are so thankful to have found a local restaurant that reaches that caliber of quality, taste, and textures in their pizza. Keep on doing what you’re doing!
    February 1, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Derek S.
    It is quality pizza that is different from any place else around. The set up is so simple with picnic tables inside and the get your own pop fountain. Wood fired pizza's with unusual toppings make it a great place to eat. They have a huge beer selection too.
    January 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Chuck T.
    I think we all absolutely loved the food. The only thing I can see that I wouldn’t enjoy, is having to sit with people I don’t know at a picnic bench. We were lucky enough to get our own four seater area. But I seen some others were uncomfortable with it, as I would be also. Other than that, employees, service, and food was excellent.
    January 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Shawna C.
    I am probably the MOST picky eater you will ever meet. We went last night for dinner and I told my husband I probably wouldn’t eat here. When we arrived our friends told us what they like. I ordered the shorty (again I’m super picky) and it was great! Might sound weird for a cheese pizza but I enjoyed it and would definitely order it again!
    January 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sherry B.
    The pizza and the salad was great. And the staff was wonderful
    January 15, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amy C.
    Delicious pizza. They specialized it for us with pistachios and pesto. Fun atmosphere. Friendly bartenders. I’d go back in a heartbeat.
    January 15, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Roger B.
    Nice atmosphere for the casual dining experience. Love the open seating. Shroom Pizza was flavorful.
    January 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie F.
    Honestly best pizza I’ve ever eaten!!! Service was great and the atmosphere was lively!
    January 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Douglas S.
    I thought the place was very clean the pizza was prepared right in front of you and it was delicious. I feel this is the best pizza I have eaten in the entire stae of Ohio.
    January 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jyulee T.
    great place for pizza, especially if you aren't a meat eater! nice staff, quick service, retro vibes. I can't have alcohol but the beer list was impressive!
    December 30, 2017
  • StarStarStarStar
    T T.
    Yummy! ... never had a bad menu item. Love their healthy options as well, just wish the cauliflower was available in a half order
    December 13, 2017
Show More Reviews

About Us

Old Scratch Pizza is a casual, counter-service, walk-in-only restaurant.

Our Neapolitan-style pies are quickly crafted in our 800° wood-burning ovens, and served with 20 taps of local and regional craft beer, in a casual and communal hall. If you are looking for more than pizza, we have "not-your-average-pizza-place" salads, fire-roasted veggies, and gluten-free and vegan options too.