Contact Information

Troll Pub

Address:
216 Wayne Ave
DaytonOH 45402

Phone: 937-723-7709
Website:

Leave a review

Have you ever visited Troll Pub?

Please select the star rating that describes your experience.
StarStarStarStarStar

Overall Rating

1001001008750
3.9/5.0
(based on 227 reviews)

Recent Reviews

  • StarStarStarStar
    Charlotte P.
    Went for lunch. We seated our selves. Lisa was our server did a fantastic job. Upbeat and friendly. Food was good but cook didn't pay attention to how i wanted my burger. Price pretty standard. Decore was very unique.
    August 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Brandon L.
    Good beer, good food, amazing atmosphere with a lot of history
    August 10, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Filia L.
    Great food, great drinks, quick service, love the decor!
    August 10, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Dave S.
    It is a great looking old time kind of place even though it is a new bar/restaurant. Staff is friendly with a lot of knowledge of the many types of beer they have on tap.
    August 4, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    David C.
    Enjoyed happy hour in the bar. Plenty of choices and good service. Really nice atmosphere.
    August 3, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Li S.
    Great atmosphere! Very fun place to eat with friends and family...especially if you book the secret party room (located behind a wall with a bookcase as a door). It was difficult seating a large group during lunch time, even on a weekday. Plenty of on site parking and the food was great ( I got the turkey Reuben ).
    August 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Li S.
    Great atmosphere! Very fun place to eat with friends and family...especially if you book the secret party room (located behind a wall with a bookcase as a door). It was difficult seating a large group during lunch time, even on a weekday. Plenty of on site parking and the food was great ( I got the turkey Reuben ).
    August 1, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    mark m.
    Quirky overlaybon a cool old building and solid pub food. Excellent bourbon and deer selections
    July 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ron P.
    1st time here... Had to try the Hot Brown, since I had the original via the Brown Hotel in Louisville... It was close but the Deli-turkey slices was sub-par, and the bacon was under the cheese in which causes it to get soft and chewy. The tomatoes should have been Roma..The cheese sauce was on point... It however was a nice meal. Wife had the hot brown pizza... Not even close. .... Now for the starter! We had the loaded Fries! They were excellent! And will most definitely get those again! Maybe with Chilli on top. Atmosphere was VERY nice. I will go back. Staff was SO friendly!
    July 22, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Pam M.
    Nice atmosphere, tasty food, quickish service.
    July 22, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Geneva O.
    It's beautiful inside! They have a nice bar with very nice bartenders! The poutine is fantastic!!!
    July 21, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    George S.
    First time to the Troll Pub and was impressed! Small group of 4 for lunch and no one was disappointed! Being from NYC I went with the Rueben and I must say - pleasantly surprised! And the fries that came along with it had a nice crisp crunch to them! As for the ambience, it's an old building built in 1868... Definite industrial feel with wood beams across the cieling! Very open area with about a 50 foot wooden table in the center. A nice bar as you enter with large TV's and some old time chandeliers! Good time! Enjoy!
    July 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Billy R.
    This burger was fantastic. The fries were amazing. The restaurant is very industrial and unique. I highly recommend and will return in the future.
    July 16, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    M H.
    Amazing food good tap list pet friendly patio area
    July 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Shawnda H.
    Happy hour is awesome!! Can't beat happy hour prices for top shelf liquor! The staff is really nice and inviting too!!
    July 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ken G.
    Trendy upscale bar/restaurant. Food was good and drink selection was nice. Prices are above average for the quality but not terrible.
    July 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joshua B.
    Ambiance and environment were great. The food we ordered came out in acceptable time and was quite good and hot. The beer selection looks good, and even had a couple ciders on tap
    June 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Beth D.
    Really unique place, nice atmosphere! Food is good.
    June 27, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Rebecca I.
    Very good food! The beer cheese and soft pretzels were soooo good! Crystal was our our server and she did an amazing job!! Will definitely be back, several other things on the menu we want to try!
    June 22, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Bill F.
    Best food in valley. Rubens and philly are awesome.
    June 21, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jen J.
    Great happy hour, lots of menu choices for both food and drinks, nice bar area.
    June 19, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Tracey M.
    I thought it was a great restaurant. Myself and friends met up for a late lunch/drinks. We had a great time, food was good, and absolutely loved the waitress. We will all definitely be returning there soon.
    June 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mike
    Picked this place for a lunch meeting, amazing old building with cool rustic interior. No frills sandwich menu but portions were large and service was great. Looks like a decent bar inside, outdoor seating but it is next to a asphalt parking lot. Will return.
    June 13, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dominic G.
    Food is great, atmospheres is great. Tom is the best bartender they have there. Had a great time there for my girlfriend's birthday dinner.
    June 9, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mary T.
    If you love a variety of beers to choose from and very good snack food this is the place to go.
    June 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Carrie A.
    On my second visit to the Troll Pub, I took my husband. He always jokes that he "tastes with his brain" before he orders a menu item and today he made me think he was right. I'd been to the Troll Pub before and thought it was ok, but not great. Apparently hubby had a lesson to teach me that I must explain here. That lesson is that its all about what you order. So first let me say it's almost his birthday so his complete indulgence is expected! So hubby chose the roast beef poutine French fries to start and that was amazing. I knew right away it was going to be a better trip with hubby present. He also ordered a bourbon from their extensive amazing bourbon menu. So we enjoyed that and the atmosphere for a bit Love the brickwork and the old beams. For dinner, I ordered the Reuben and hubby ordered the Kentucky hot brown. My Reuben was probably the best we've had and it really highlighted the fresh baked bread, and you must try the sweet potato tots! Hubby's Kentucky hot brown was out of this world! Please see the fuzzy picture below to see that it looks nothing like an open face sandwich, but it's all good. That "sandwich " was piled so completely with cheese that it looked more like a casserole. Have I mentioned that he often orders the cheesiest thing on the menu next to his lactose intolerant wife? But omg. Just omg. So good! So even though he was pretty full, I goaded him into ordering the cheesecake with another shot of bourbon. Amazing cheesecake too! So, lesson of the day. Hubby does taste with his brain. Order wisely and you will not be disappointed !
    June 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Allison A.
    I loved the open feel of the restaurant. The staff was friendly, and my lunch was excellent! Plus - we discovered a secret room.
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Daniel m.
    Loved it. Great theme. Nice layout. Fun atmosphere. Great food. Great drinks and the bar staff are awesome.
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jodi L.
    Great place! Can't believe I didn't know this place was here! If you haven't been, then you definitely need to check it out. Great food, great beer selection, and great service! It's so close to the Oregon District!
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Vistro
    Food was very good - had a variety of appetizers: 2 types of wings, 3 different pizzas, quesadillas and fried pickles. They were very accommodating for our party of 30+ people in their party room, friendly wait staff and great selection of beers and drinks. Recommended
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Aj B.
    Excellent selection of drinks. Had the half prized apps during happy hour. They fried pickles are great. The cowboy burger was also good. The burger had pickled jalapenos which was a surprise but fit well. Burger tasted like it was actually grilled over an open flame not on a griddle. Will definitely go back.
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Katie C.
    Nice place. Decent drink menu....definitely a beer place, not really for those that prefer wine. Good food. Large spacious building with nice exposed brick.
    May 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Angela S.
    We go here for happy hour after work and the accommodations are great! Staff is always willing to work with us since we have large groups. Food is great as well. Chicken and waffle sandwich and bbq pizza are awesome!
    May 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Michael C.
    Pretty cool old buildup g with interesting history. Food was good, service was great
    May 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Mike D.
    Foods good and not to expensive. The only problem I have with the place are the tables. They look cool but as a functional table to eat off of not so great.
    May 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dane B.
    Good food, good selection of beer, beautiful old wooden and brick building. Highly recommend!
    May 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Brent M.
    This is a nice bar and eatery in a historic building just north of the Oregon district. They did a nice job of keeping the exposed brickwork and factory elements in the walls to give it a nice feel. They have a large selection of beer available, including many Indiana and Kentucky breweries (they have a sister location in Louisville). The menu has a lot of pub style and american dishes. They have a few large party rooms and it would make a great spot for a large group. Make sure to look for the hidden doors behind the bookcases.
    May 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Randy B.
    Love this place. Had my friends from class of old high school meet here for our monthly luncheon. Food was great as always. Waitress was wonderful to put up with a bunch of old ladies. Thanks
    May 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Barbara K.
    Love this place. Had my friends from class of 1962 meet here for our monthly luncheon. Food was great as always. Waitress was wonderful to put up with a bunch of old ladies. Thanks
    May 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Pam D.
    Wonderful service, atmosphere and food for our group of 12. My husband & I couldn't believe we had never heard of this establishment. Great place for a large group due to their massive seating areas and special mystery room behind the bookshelves! But do you dare to enter???
    May 8, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mindy C.
    Great food and prices. HUGE bar with tvs. Their pretzel sticks are probably the best I've ever had. They aren't loaded with butter and I like that. The Reuben is fantastic as well as the Avocado Cobb Salad. Lots of great beers on hand, you know, the fancy ones too. They have outside area but I don't think they serve food there. Parking lot on site.
    April 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nicholas G.
    Food was amazing! Had the angry alfredo, I highly recommend if you like spicy. Wonderful beer selection. Had an hour wait for a table. I suggest making a reservation. Will definitely return!!
    April 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Dianna O.
    Good selection of drinks and delicious french Frys. The entrees I have tried are pretty good as well. Ample parking.
    April 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Nancy B.
    The food was good. We had a very large party and the service was very good. Plant of parking and easy access location.
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    sandra a.
    Love the interior of the old building. food we had was very good. And they're one of the few restaurants I know that take a reservation.
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Anthony V.
    The bar is very creative and has a lot of great whiskeys. The food is a little odd just yet we'll see how it goes. Interesting digs. Much potential here.
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Natalie L.
    Great food! The crust on the burger was on point! The staff was quick, efficient and easy to talk to! Great time!
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Richard M.
    Really enjoyed the Atmosphere and the food. Service was good too. I suggest you give this affordable restaurant a try. Look up before you walk in the door or you'll miss the giant troll hanging from the smokestack.
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mark B.
    I went here once on St. Patrick's day weekend and I loved it. I can't wait to go back. They have a great selection of drinks, and they had amazing food. They had a burger called the beer cheese burger that might be the best burger I've ever had. The bar tenders and wait staff are also super friendly and helpful.
    April 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Deb B.
    Troll! "There's a troll in the basement!" This little pub style restaurant is located in The Wheelhouse. It used to be a car factory. Remodeled and repurposed, as are most of the buildings in the Oregon District, it now serves up grub instead of gears. You can just picture a troll roaming about the rustic brick and stone interior. Super tall doorways and heavy medieval type wheel chandeliers add to the look. As you enter, there is a giant troll sculpture hanging on the iron gate. (It was pouring rain so sorry, no pic). If you can make it safely past him you are in for a great. We had a reservation and were seated right away. There is a bar area with plenty of screens to watch whatever is in season for sports. The dining room was warm and cozy despite being super spacious with open industrial ceilings. I love that you aren't packed in elbow to elbow. Plenty of room. We started with Fried pickles served with a tasty ranch dressing for dipping. We got a big basket, easily enough for the four of us. I had the Angry Alfredo. A spicy version of classic Alfredo and pasta. There was a lot of chicken with a huge dish of pasta. Bread to mop up the juices. Delicious. The T bone steak was big and juicy with garlic mashed and the most beautiful green broccoli. Flat breads are enough for a meal and several varieties of burgers. A good selection of salads and honestly the appetizers are enough for a meal, unless you have a troll sized appetite! They have a good variety of beers both craft and local as well as wine and full bar service. Servers arrived promptly to take our order. They were knowledgeable and courteous. Food arrived in a reasonable amount of time and it was hot! We had enough to take home leftovers which were just as tasty the next day. It's a great place to check out if you've never been , take friends from out of town or seek out if you're from out of town like me. Highly recommend. Prices are reasonable.
    April 2, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Celeste M.
    The pot roast poutine is amazing, and came out fast. The chicken and waffles were good too. I like the secret doors. Also, they've been totally cool with me dragging my laptop in and working in a corner for a couple hours (I go around 2-4 on Saturdays so I'm not keeping a table they need occupied). One time it was hard to find the server to get me my check, but that's the only time service has been a problem. Overall, I recommend it.
    March 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Adam S.
    Great food. The beer cheese burger is fantastic. Beer selection is amazing and their mixed drinks are also great.
    March 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Adrian C.
    Really good beer and food selection!! Our server recommended the Beer Cheese Burger which did not disappoint! The Beer Cheese appetizer with the pretzle bites were really good as well! Highly recommended to check out in historical downtown Dayton!
    March 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    L B.
    Overall troll pub is a fun place; lots of TVs for sports, good food & beer selection. One negative is the Kitchen closes early. Restaurants that stay open late and serve alcohol need to serve food or snacks to keep people from getting too intoxicated.
    March 14, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lisa K.
    Had no clue what to expect! We were pleasantly surprised! Anyone who has an Alaskan beer on tap is going become my go to place. Fish and fries were spectacular and I had to give my husband half of my meal because of the generous amount of food I received. We had a 22 person party and they seated us comfortably. Loved the ambiance! We are returning with another group of people next weekend!
    March 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Robin G.
    Cool place. Every type of liquor and brew you could imagine! Happy hour half price beer and appetizers so you can taste without going broke! Great service. Tasty eats. Great atmosphere. Big and roomy and nicely decorated. Most pleasurable experience.
    February 23, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amy C.
    Great food and drinks. With great service. I Highly recommend
    February 18, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jamie S.
    This is a super cool bar and grill in downtown Dayton. It has a very unique history as it was concerned from an old manufacturing facility. Remnants of the old factory are very much front and center with pieces of the original building throughout. They have an extensive beer menu with a great food menu. The loaded fries were EXCELLENT, the best I've ever had. You've got to try them at least once! The burger was super satisfying and the service was friendly. There are multiple rooms so they can hold a lot of people. There's also an outdoor area with a fire pit. This place has so much to offer. Highly recommended.
    February 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Brian S.
    Very tasty I had the beer cheese burger.
    February 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ethan S.
    The troll pub was amazing. The food there was great. The only problem I had there was the watrise she only came two our table 2 times in an hour and 30 minute visit. Ps. I recommend the filly cheese steak
    February 15, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Pixie V.
    FUN atmosphere and great food. I had fish and chips, my husband had burger both we very tasty. Will return!!
    February 11, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jared M.
    Great food and great downtown ambiance for Dayton. It's a well-run restaurant and was packed when I was there. Will return again.
    February 7, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alicia d.
    Staff and atmosphere friendly. Nice bar
    February 6, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jeff S.
    Food was good. I had a half club sandwich, half salad. Cool atmosphere.
    February 5, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie W.
    Awww man! Best time ever. Delicious. AND I got to spend it with my family! ❤
    January 31, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    chad s.
    Awesome building! Love the atmosphere. Burgers while decent didnt necessarily taste non frozen. But overall good experience.
    January 30, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Peter W.
    Great addition to the Oregon District area in Dayton. Huge place. Try the pot roast poutine appetizer and the chicken and waffles sandwich.
    January 29, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Judson W.
    I absolutely love the Beer Cheese burger! Great char-grilled smoky taste, tobacco (onion) straws on top are perfect. I always ask for the cheese on the side because it is incredibly messy if you don't. A side of bbq is a nice addition (although they charge extra for it).
    January 20, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alissa P.
    My fiancee and I went for the first time last night. The building has some much character. The food was good and the beer selection is great. The only complaint I have, is it is a bit pricey, but the bartender did tells us when the best times were to come and get good deals on appetizers and beer. We will be back.
    January 17, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mike K.
    I enjoyed this place kn Louisville and I enjoyed my visit to this location, fantastic whiskey selection and just a very cool environment.
    January 12, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Nicole R.
    Hard to notice when driving by. Good beer selection. Food was good. Waitstaff was just ok. They have large outdoor seating area with fire pit. I was here in winter so do not know if they serve food on the patio. Burgers and apps we're very good. Lots of TV's as well so good place to watch sports.
    January 10, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Tanner B.
    Atmosphere is great. Beer selection is top notch. Food isn't fantastic but the portions are. Only complaint is the consistently mediocre service juxtapose threw 18% added gratuity to the bill.
    December 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joyce K.
    Never been to the Troll Pub before. We went 3 times in December. New favorite place. They had amazing food, friendly nice servers and good atmosphere.
    December 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    David
    Neat building. Good food at fair prices. Top notch fish and chips. Their chili is quite tasty and hearty, but it is very spicy. Probably spicier than almost any other restaurant. Be warned. The service on our visit was very friendly. I would definitely go again.
    December 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Grant B.
    I scheduled this place for my company gift exchange. I love the huge selection of drinks they offer. I got the Thanksgiving burger when I went here in November and loved it. This time I got the fried pickles and they were so good. The staff was qccommadating to the bigger group we had. I wasnt the biggest fan of the moscow mule, but the atmosphere and nice staff made up for it.
    December 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Leah B.
    We tried the Troll Pub for the first time and we enjoyed our visit. The pub's decor is awesome, with lots of brick and wood features. It was very clean. Our server was very friendly. The food was good.
    December 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Thomas B.
    This place has it down. This place is excellent. The IPA was really good. They do have a very wide selection on Bourbons also. I really enjoyed eating here. The burger I had was amazing. This is a gem, but the prices are a little bit higher then you would expect. I felt in the end it was worth the pricing. The service was friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you for the great experience.
    December 13, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Marcus C.
    The food was fast, hot and correct and a good variety of beer on tap. I sat at the bar, and the service was great. Unfortunately we weren't able to sit in the dining area because it was reserved for a party. Almost drive past it if it weren't for the giant troll statue peering over the fence. Good Dayton spot to check out for a quick lunch.
    December 13, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Marcia B.
    We had an after work girls night and our first time visit. Atmosphere was perfect with cleaver décor. Food was very tasty. I had fish and chips. The service was great as well. My only complaint is that I remembered that I had left my to go box literally 5 minutes after pulling out of the lot. I called the restaurant while turning around to go back and get it and the server had already tossed my meal. The manager offered to recook my meal but it was already late and I didn't want to spend the time. It would have just been nice for the server not to have been so quick to toss the box. I would definitely visit the Troll Pub again despite my complaint.
    December 1, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Steve M.
    This is a great restaurant and a really cool old building just outside of the Oregon district in Dayton. I have to say that they possibly have some of the best bar tenders in town and make one of the best bloody Mary's that I've had. I've had their burgers which are great but my son gets the Angry Alfredo and it is really awesome! Try the loaded fries as an appetizer if you're hungry - they won't disappoint.
    November 28, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ed W.
    Friendly Staff, Great Beers on tap, Fun atmosphere, and Good food. The big salads are great and always fresh. The Fish & Chips are perfect although I don't think they should be served in a basket...Plate would be better as the fork goes right through the paper. Their house tartar sauce is fantastic.
    November 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Denise L.
    Fantastic beer selection and great food. Unique atmosphere. I'm definitely coming back!
    November 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Adam V.
    Loved this place! Came into town for a comedy show and picked this place based on the reviews and it was great. Fast service and friendly staff.
    November 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Keith B.
    Attended a event there and the server took my beverage request. Where upon I ask for a food menu. Both the food and service were great. I went up to the bar after the event and again outstanding service. Inside was very nice. Upon leaving the parking lot requires work.
    November 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joseph R.
    Good food. Southern burger was okay (mostly tasted fried onions and not the pimento cheese that I was hoping for). Great service.
    November 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ryan V.
    This place was recommended to me by a friend. I have been twice and I plan on coming back again. Great food, great services, and great environment.
    November 5, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    C B.
    First time here and it was amazing! I got the recommended Fried Chicken and Waffles Sandwiches upgraded fries to Loaded Troll fries. Dessert was a regular root beer float though you can get it hard (alcoholic) as menu suggested. Good eats in Dayton!
    October 27, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    nicole c.
    Neat place. I love the exposed old brick. I had their fried pickles and they were excellent. My only wish is that some of the lunch items were available for dinner.
    October 27, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Michael H.
    My first time here and I'm impressed. We had a party of 8 and got seated right away. Service was attentive and friendly. Sweet potato tater tots and frickles both highly recommended.
    October 26, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Hilary V.
    Nice new pub located downtown. Decent menu and great beer selection. Easy walking distance to some other good bars.
    October 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Michael M.
    They have a great location just outside the Oregon district. It's located in a renovated warehouse, and it's big enough to seat a couple hundred people at a time. The drink selection is top notch, but the food doesn't quite make the grade. It's not bad, but nothing has ever stood out as fantastic.
    October 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amy W.
    Wheelhouse is an awesome character-filled restaurant bar. Food is amazing. Beer list outstanding. Visit this place if you haven't.
    October 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mike M.
    Really big venue! Food was good and relatively affordable in comparison with other Oregon District faire. Solid beer selection. Tons of super large TVs.
    October 13, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Theresa R.
    Just got to check this place out finally. My husband and I went for dinner and everything was delicious! The poutine fries are to die for and I highly recommend the chicken and waffle sandwich. The service was good and the prices are fair as well. We will definitely be back.
    October 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Shannon B.
    I was not overly impressed by the food, it was okay but no gluten free options minus salad really. Good beer and drink selection so if that's why you are going you won't be disappointed. I am a fan of really good food with my drinks so that's why I can't give them the 5 stars.
    October 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Samuel H.
    Here for lunch. First time. Super impressed with staff, beer selection, and super hot and tasty food. I had the Philly Cheese steak with a side of beer cheese. I really like this place! Will be back for dinner soon!
    October 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Anna S.
    Great food. Cool place!
    September 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Matt G.
    Very good food and service. The restaurant is really cool, although no trolls inside. Chicken and waffles fried pickles and wraps were all good.
    September 26, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Yvette M.
    Great atmosphere and friendly service. Loved food and drinks. Great place for a couple or large group. We will be back .
    September 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Adam B.
    I've been here twice for lunch and once for dinner on a Sunday. It's surprisingly not crowded when I've been there. Good pub food selections and good salads. Everything I've had has been great. Easy to park. Unique atmosphere with a lot of history.
    September 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Amy K.
    We were hesitant to go in because the outside did not look very appealing - just a warehouse, but the "kids" (college students) were sort of frightened by the giant troll statue out front, and the painting on the outside walls. But inside it was very inviting - clean (newly renovated apparently), industrial-looking, exposed brick walls. The food was fabulous and reasonably priced. Burgers were fantastic, and my younger one gobbled up her Cobb salad. The only thing was the beer cheese burger had a little too much cheese (though I do recognize some people would NEVER say too much cheese!) We did not order anything from the bar, but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Troll Pub - thanks to our friend for recommending this place that we did not know existed! We'll be back!
    September 24, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Larry S.
    My wife and I enjoyed every aspect of the Troll Pub, from the atmosphere to our great & knowlegeable waitress. The food is incredible! Very clean and NO annoying music blasting my eardrums while trying to eat. The bar is HUGE and plenty of tables for groups or just a couple. Delicious craft beers on tap; local craft beers too! Prices are very fair & affordable. Big screen TVs galore for sports and they are... turned on (unlike other places). We will be back!
    September 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Maria B.
    A really cool unexpected place! The food was great, lots of craft / regional beer options, sporting events can be seen on several TV's throughout the restaurant. Our server was also great. I was with a group and he checked In on us frequently. There is outdoor seating with some umbrellas so it's nice in the warm weather but I wouldn't suggest it in the cooler / cold weather. The decor / inside is also a cool refurbished space. A great spot to go with friends or family. Hoping to go again soon.
    September 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Steve M.
    Great place will definitely be back!
    September 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    K E.
    Although my review will not include food because we came here for drinks. The atmosphere is really nice. I consider this a fabulous place to meet friends and hang out. Tv's all over the place for football and a huge selection of bourbon(my husband drinks it) and tons of craft beers. The inside is pretty cool with exposed brick everywhere and the dining tables made from the reclaimed wood from the ceiling during renovation. We will be back for sure. Such a breath of fresh air since I am not a huge fan of the bars in the Oregon dist. Highly recommend coming here.
    September 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Charlie F.
    We have been here twice and there's a reason why we are repeat customers! Love the atmosphere, decor, and layout plus what a fantastic staff. Very attentive and always there to give suggestions. Wed-Fri (WTF) has an excellent 50% off appetizers and drinks. The beer cheese with huge pretzel sticks are killer and we actually fought over the frickles (fried pickles). We will definitely be back.
    September 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jeff G.
    What an awesome job they did claiming this old space. It looks absolutely incredible! They added a nice sized patio outside too. I have eaten here several times since they opened and i am definitely a fan. I could see being a regular here. They have a great selection of beers and their pricing is really good. Each time I have been here i have been very happy with the food, the service, and the experience overall. If you get the opportunity I would definitely recommend trying it.
    September 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Martha C.
    So we just had a wedding event at The Troll Pub. Amazing venue for our style of celebration. The secret book room held the food, cake, photo booth and favors beautifully. Alcohol was served to our guests from the back side of the bar. We had the courtyard covered in tents. Our band had plenty of room to perform. We transitioned the outdoor space from dining to dancing. The food was amazing. The staff were amazing. Very flexible and adaptable to meet the needs of the bride and groom. The night was magical! Thanks Troll Pub.
    September 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    John K.
    Excellent reuse of a historical building. Noise levels are similar to an East Coast eatery. Food is good, imaginative, and served quickly. Amazing beer selection.
    August 22, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ian B.
    The coolest bar/pub in Dayton period. They have a huge selection of drinks and a wide variety of food that is absolutely amazing! The staff is incredible as well. This place has everything you could possibly want in a bar! Check it out, you won’t be disappointed.
    August 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Holly W.
    I was here during lunch. Not busy and the food was served quickly..in and out easily in hour. I have the ceasar chicken wrap and it was very good. The homemade chips (side item) were just okay. I loved the location, building and decor. I'm anxious to go back and try other menu items.
    August 16, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Ed S.
    Lots of cold beer on tap. Great wedge salad. Angry pasta had great flavor. Reuben wasn't quite New York, but it's a solid substitute! Good service. Neat atmosphere. Certainly worth a visit.
    August 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Brooke T.
    I travel 45 mins for this place, my friends and I love it! We always have so much fun with the waiter/bartender tom! He does his best to make us whatever we want & always on top of things! Food is amazing too�
    August 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kali T.
    Wow!! Food is amazing!! My friends brought me here for the first time and I was so impressed! Tom was our waiter/bartender and he was great! Had us laughing the whole time.. definitely would recommend �
    August 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mindy D.
    The poutine fries and cheese steak are THE BOMBBBB!! Tom our waiter was also very funny and so accommodating even though they were busy.... highly recommend!!!
    August 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Roberta P.
    Cool place, with ample parking which is always a plus downtown. They did a very nice job with the detail work on the restaurant, and it also has a patio available. Our lunch was very good and our server at the bar, Megan, was excellent! I'd be interested in going back, but my one major turn off was their cocktail prices were very high, like as much or more expensive as a steakhouse, for the exact drink.
    August 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Angela J.
    Great atmosphere and food. Location is such that you can easily take a stroll down the Orgeon District after dinner.
    August 4, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Carrie B.
    Food was WONDERFUL huge portions, no wait great drinks!
    August 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Craig P.
    The service is AMAZING. Everyone was smiling, even when they're busy as heck, and the bartenders are spot on. When you show up make sure to ask for Tom Mowery, this dude is on point. I love me some Tom Mowery!!! He always takes great care of us when we come in.
    August 3, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Marissa N.
    Great Drinks, Food, and Service! Especially for a Friday night 😊👍. Warning! The Electric margarita will sneak up on ya 😂 lol
    July 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Abe H.
    The atmosphere of this place is undeniably cool! I felt like I tripped over a rock on Wayne Ave and fell into a history book. One can tell that the owners have gone to certain lengths to keep this place looking ancient and I love it. The food isn't terrible but it's definitely not worth talking about. I'm pretty sure I've bought most if not all of their menu at the grocery. The good news is there is a lot of alcohol, so drink up, and use the mediocre food as munchies! Overall a cool place. Will definitely return.
    July 28, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Loriejean M.
    Great food great service and great atmosphere check this place out. It's really awesome!
    July 22, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Corey P.
    Wish I could give 10 stars ⭐️ Awesome beer selection, amazing food and I cool environment. Nice to see old landmarks in our neighborhood turn into something like this. Can’t wait to go back 😬
    July 21, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Glenna H.
    Been there twice. Both time everyone there was very helpfull and friendly. Food was excellent will definitely be back😊👍
    July 14, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Robert E.
    I loved it. I enjoyed my food and the décor.
    July 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Josh S.
    Delicious food and great atmosphere.
    July 7, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Keyser S.
    My wife and I stopped in for a drink. Very cold beer and relaxing atmosphere. Will come back.
    July 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tracy H.
    The BEST fried pickles in town.... excellent atmosphere, food and service!
    July 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Erica D.
    Fun new bar just off the Oregon District, wander out and check it out! Super industrial building they turned into a pub that really seems like a place a troll my drink. No windows, but it's very open and lots of space to hang out, plus private rooms hidden behind bookcases, what's not to love? It does get loud for sure and is not necessarily cheap by any means, but tons of beer on draft keeps me coming back (may be more of a bourbon bar, but I don't drink it!) Happy Hour is really the only time I'd go unless showing someone visiting a fun bar, half off pints and apps is a great deal. Their poutine was delicious too!
    June 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Tim S.
    Very nice place great menu and drinks - got that old time wharehouse conversion feeling - RECOMMEND !!!!
    June 24, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Marie C.
    The service was great and very friendly. The food was great. I loved the atmosphere. A very fun place to eat. We will return.
    June 10, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    C B.
    We were there for an event on the patio. Luv4k9s dog rescue fundraiser. Loved the patio. Food was good. Everyone friendly. Cute place.
    May 31, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Kelly W.
    I love this place. The design and atmosphere. I was disappointed that the only veggie burger they had was a black bean burger. Might I suggest a simply veggie burger to substitute on your exciting options.
    May 27, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dee B.
    Service was awesome and food was great! We will be returning!!
    May 20, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Chuck S.
    From a bar standpoint, they get 4 Stars. From a dining standpoint, a soft 3 Stars. I had the taco salad, which they advertise as one of their chef specials. It was pretty mediocre, basically just an iceberg lettuce salad with taco meat and cheese on top. I also had the beer cheese appetizer, again because it was a chef special. It was essentially generic nacho cheese sauce with soft pretzels. The food was not bad, I just would not make it a point to eat here. From a bar standpoint, it's a cool building playing into the troll theme. They have a diverse beer selection and a lot of TVs. The bar itself is located between the Cannery and Oregon District, so it's very walkable if you're bar hopping in that part of town.
    May 17, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Bob D.
    Good food and atmosphere! We will be back! Nice beer selection.
    May 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Michael C.
    We have been to Troll Pub several times and have always been treated well. The food is good and beer selection really good. Building and atmosphere is worth the visit in and of itself.
    May 12, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Drew R.
    Popped in for lunch today and had the best cup of ham and bean soup I've ever eaten! Up there with one of the best soups in general for me. Add to that, since living in the Oregon District, the one major flaw I've found is that there are no good sports bars here. I'm really happy that I stopped in, because their TV situation will definitely fix that problem for anyone else looking for that in the OD. I wouldn't describe it as a sports bar... It still fits in well in the area. But it also has great sports watching options, so it's best of both worlds. Will absolutely be frequenting here in the future!
    May 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Darrin B.
    My friend and I went there Friday night and sat at the corner of the bar. The bartenders were awesome. They would joke with us and have a good time. Will for sure come back.
    May 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Miles O.
    Not bad. Food was good and beer selection wasn't too bad. Not a bad spot. Out door area looked cool
    May 5, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Rodney C.
    First time visit, sat at the bar drank and ate appetizers with Friend. Logan served us beers and whiskey shots. I had a bowl of chili, which was authentic (no beans) had plenty of cayenne and chilis. It pair nicely with beer I was drinking. Delicious. After more drinks, had order their tots. When the tots arrived. I was impressed by the amount and did not waste any time on eating them. They were crispy to the last. This is going to be my new go to place. Amble parking, lots of tables and space to accommodate a crowd. Quiet
    May 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Sarah B.
    This was my second visit to Troll Pub, and first time dining. The waitstaff was fast, friendly, and got our party’s special orders right. Food was served quickly. I got the Chicken Taco wrap with fries. It came with a chipotle lime dipping sauce, which was delicious. The fries were fresh, hot, and crispy. The wrap itself was somewhat bland, but the rest of our party enjoyed their dishes very much.
    May 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Alyssa S.
    Went here for my 21st birthday with my family- the atmosphere was amazing, and the food was phenomenal! 10/10 stars! ����������
    April 30, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Toby S.
    Excellent menu selection. Decor is absolutely stunning! Love the exposed brick an reconditioned woodwork. Food was simply amazing! Highly recommend the chicken an waffles sandwich.
    April 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Boyd W.
    Went there on Saturday 4-28 sat at the bar. Logan was our waitress and was by far the best we’ve had. Food was great plan a return trip very soon!
    April 29, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mary M.
    Awesome atmosphere. Really good food, beer & service. Must be the Trolls 😉.
    April 25, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    John E.
    Visited the Troll Pub on a Friday night and was pleasantly surprised. The placed was packed though seemed fairly Troll-ganized. It has nice "Pub Grub" and friendly service. Large seating areas and plenty of area to sit @ the bar or in the bar area. Seems that Troll-servations will be a must for weekends though the bar area is open seating. They do have a nice selection of local Troll beers and if you prefer the harder stuff a full selection of Troll-coholic selections. In case you were wondering, yes there is a bridge less than a block away if you are a local Troll and looking for a watering hole. I really wish I could make this review a bit more interesting and throw a few funny quips in but I got nothing. Happy Trolling!!
    April 18, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kassidy T.
    The food was amazing!! My server was Sam and she was super friendly. Definitely ask for her when you come!! The whole place has a pub feel from dark wood tables to brick walls. They have a full bar area with TVs. Also good for groups of big size! Will be coming back!
    April 17, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jenn Q.
    Fun and friendly environment. Our waitress Ali was on top of it, and had such a great attitude despite being busy. Jay, the manager checked in on us as well, and took time to welcome us, as it was our first time visiting. Will definitely be back!!
    April 11, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie M.
    Very fun! Great experience! Food was amazing, waiters / waitresses super engaged. Yes, we will go back again & again.
    April 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Justin W.
    The place looks great, the atmosphere is fun, the staff was friendly, and the food was AMAZING!
    April 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Julie C.
    Awesome place for lunch downtown Dayton! I'll be back!
    April 9, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jason H.
    My wife and I went here for the first time yesterday. We arrived around 4:30pm. It was not super busy. Let me first say, the inside decor is amazing. Love it. We only had appetizers and they were good and came out in a timely fashion. The service was not good. It took a long time for a bartender to even pay attention to us and the one bartender seemed to be pretty forgetful as she forgot what we ordered a couple times. We will be back but hope the service improves.
    April 8, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Felicite L.
    THIS PLACE IS AWESOME. Not only was the food delish, but the atmosphere is killer. I went with some of my coworkers at lunch and we had such a good time I'm going back with my family tonight. I HIGHLY recommend this place. Also DYING to try the bloody mary, it is made with burbon, since they are a burbon-type bar. Go! Just go. :)
    April 6, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Fara W.
    I love this place! The building is beautiful and once you walk inside it is almost magical. The wood, brick, lighting ..the hidden door/bookcase hiding another room..the whole atmosphere is perfect. Super friendly service and the food was delicious. We had the Stacked, Packed Pot Roast Poutine and the Fish and Chips with the jalapeno tarter sauce(from now on I will always put jalapenos in my tarter sauce). The portions were big enough that I took half of mine home. We are already planning on what to order next time.
    April 5, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Lisa B.
    Beautiful place, lots of room and a awesome beer selection. I would highly recommend it!
    April 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Jim I.
    This place looks incredible. Despite all the wood and metal interior, I found it to be actually warm and comfortable. The menu options are plentiful and show imagination. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the plethora of screens to watch while we dined as well as the great service we experienced. Their beer selection is no slouch either. The menu is a bit pricey, however. $3.50 for a bottle of Bud seems a bit much. So you can imagine what the craft beer prices were like. All that said, I really enjoyed this place and I will be back.
    April 2, 2018
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Madonna H.
    The food was fantastic. Had the Kentucky hot brown. Best one I've tried in Ohio. Also ordered the tater tots with a side of the bourbon BBQ sauce. Delicious. Good selection of beers and bourbon as well. The service was excellent too. The beauty of how they renovated the building to try and keep its original look by using supplies from within the building makes it authentic and charming. Nice to have ample parking as well. Will be returning again soon!
    April 1, 2018
  • StarStarStarStar
    Shawn D.
    Grand opening on St Patrick's Day, very brave. We arrived about an hour after they opened and just before it started really filling up. The service was friendly and quick. They have an extensive drink menu so be prepared to read. They also describe their food as "Pub grub, but made from scratch." and that description is right on. We ordered the pretzels with beer cheese for an appetizer and they came out quick. The pretzels were yummy, but I prefer mine with mustard. We also ordered a bacon jam burger, a reuben, and a fish and chips. Each order came with troll fries and the sandwiches came with really tasty and crunchy pickles. We were impressed how quick the food came out, the kitchen was ready for the grand opening. We enjoyed the atmosphere and we will be back to try out the frickles and troll more of their menu.
    March 18, 2018
Show More Reviews

About Us

Throughout the years and leading up to 2013 the building was home to a number of furniture and plumbing companies before the property was sold to the city of Dayton. In 2017, the building was purchased by a group of local investors with a vision to transform the property into apartments, retail space, and now the home for The Troll Pub at The Wheelhouse. We have repurposed wood taken from the ceiling to make table tops for our dining rooms, hand selected lighting from the early 1900's, and had custom chandeliers constructed out of old wagon wheels to pay homage to the Wheelhouse Building.

We hope you enjoy this Unique Dining Experience!

Troll pub