Contact Information

Vela

Address:
140 Veterans Ln
DoylestownPA 18901

Phone: (215) 230-8352
Website:

Leave a review

Have you ever visited Vela?

Please select the star rating that describes your experience.
StarStarStarStarStar

Overall Rating

1001001003750
3.4/5.0
(based on 69 reviews)

Recent Reviews

  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Evan S.
    Excellent food, great atmosphere, fantastic service. A must-try if you're in the area. Will be back soon
    August 9, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ashlye G.
    Excellent food, excellent service
    July 24, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Paula M.
    Celebrated our Mom's 85th birthday. Very good food. Will definitely be back
    July 3, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ryan M.
    I have been to Vela at least 15 times and I have never had a dish I did not love! The restaurant is beautiful, the atmosphere is fantastic and the food is absolutely incredible!! Friendly staff and their head chef Donna is so warm and lovely.
    March 9, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Steve B.
    Excellent staff, food and atmosphere
    March 8, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Walter M.
    Great experience and amazing food. Cannot tell enough people about the meal I had here. It’s the first time eating a meal in Doylestown that I felt transported to a restaurant in center city. When I took a look at the menu at first glance it looked limited. Let’s be honest, if the menu is too large how do you do everything well and keep ingredients fresh? Plus there were multiple specials in every category which were delicious. My Makers Manhattan cocktail was well executed and Matthew was a personable attentive waiter. It’s funny because people love to trash places on the internet. Go to this place.
    February 13, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    L T.
    Great restaurant and excellent atmosphere
    February 11, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Shawn N.
    Excellent food. Awesome service.
    January 24, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Maria P.
    My fiancé and I celebrated our anniversary here last night. We had the haddock on special which was fantastic! Being gluten free, I felt I bombarded the server and manager with questions that they patiently found the answers to. The chef even adjusted the dessert before baking it so that it would meet my dietary needs. We really weren’t sure what to expect based on prior reviews but had an exceptional experience!
    January 23, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    thomas v.
    I agree with the majority of the other reviewers. The atmosphere is very sophisticated and unique in Doylestown. The service and the food were excellent. Would definitely go back 1/18/20 Another excellent outing to Vela. I feel sorry for the owners that the average review is not higher because for this dinner, as for our prior dinner, the food and service were both excellent. Special shout-out to our waiter Freddie who was very attentive yet easy going.
    January 19, 2020
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Joe S.
    The food we had was good. The menu is rather limited. Service was great!!!
    December 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Ryan K.
    Incredible food and experience here. On the expensive side but was worth it for an anniversary dinner with the wife.
    December 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Robin P.
    I believe I had Conchiglie Bolognese and it was very good. It was a special so it isn't on the menu. The restaurant setting is very nice We ordered Papardelle Pork Ragu with Sheep's Milk Pancetta to take home and try. I will be having half of it for lunch today. I enjoyed my meal very much. My wife had the Mesclun Greens and Salmon. She also had the Pinot Noir in a glass it was very smooth with no bite. I prefer a slight bite so to speak. The restaurant itself has a very modern, nice and minimalist decor. Also they may want to put in some sound absorbing materials on the ceiling to reduce the reflection of voices, especially when it gets crowded. It wasn't too crowded on Monday nights so it was fine for us. Service was good. One server but the manager helped out every now and then so no issues with service for us.
    December 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Danielle
    Attended a baby shower here. The venue was fantastic! Great food and excellent service. Haven't been here for a personal meal, but would highly recommend for an event.
    September 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Eric F.
    Can’t speak highly enough about Vela. The food is incredible - pizza and gnocchi are our favorites, but have plans to try the whole menu! We’ve sat at the bar both times we’ve been here, and Sean and Jared were not only extremely attentive, but made fantastic cocktails that both my wife and I loved. Safe to say we’ve found our new go-to!
    August 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Cindy D.
    Lovey restaurant; food was fabulous! Everything perfect...
    August 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Pens M.
    We had a great lunch here. The food was excellent. We also found the restaurant very comfortable (seating) and attractive looking. I had salmon and my husband had rainbow trout both terrific! The draft beers were great too. Victory and Allagash and Long Trail. (We are not wine people but it's a nice wine list).
    August 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    John B.
    Had a very nice meal tonight. Everyone said their choice was good too. Dinner was paced like dining in Europe. This may be slow for some but I like the pace it makes for good conversation and an enjoyable experience.
    July 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Robert M.
    Amazing food and great cocktails. Table service isn't great for parties larger than three.
    June 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    David H.
    Great place to go ! Great food and drinks !
    June 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Mark M.
    I got so many points for taking my mother here.
    June 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jennifer H.
    My boyfriend and I went to VELA for restaurant week and had a great experience. Our server, Freddy, was awesome. He was super helpful and made some great recommendations and checked in with us multiple times to make sure we didn't need anything. We tried a few different cocktails which were all delicious. I also love that they leave a bottle of water on the table to refill your glasses. Between the two of us, we had the spinach salad and meatball appetizers, the short rib and salmon entrees, and the blueberry crisp and chocolate cappuccino mousse cake desserts. Everything was excellent! Loved the decor too. It's very open inside, so I can see how it might get a little loud in there if it's busy, but considering it doesn't give off a small/intimate vibe, that is perfectly acceptable. Overall, a great place to take a family member or client out to dinner, or just for a nice night out. The restaurant is kind of tucked away in the plaza where the liquor store is (which is how I first noticed it), so I hope other people notice it and give it a try.
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Rich R.
    Wonderful meals! Just the right size
    May 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Jeremy G.
    The atmosphere was great, the service was phenomenal, and the food ...absolutely delicious!! everything was cooked perfect. great casual dining or dating
    April 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Roman S.
    Place was recommended by a friend for great drinks, we decided to have dinner as well and glad we did, best old fashions in town and the food is just as great, from the brick oven pizza to the pastas everything was spectacular!
    April 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Traci E.
    Beautifully designed space - the bar is lively and has an expert mixologist with creative and tasty cocktails! Dinner was delicious -we shared two pastas and a salad as apps and had the halibut , salmon and veal chop entrees. Everyone loved their meal ! Can’t wait to return to VELA!
    April 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Joseph S.
    Good drink menu at bar
    April 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Howard G.
    We have been there a couple of times. Right after they opened, we tried them with a small group (4) on a weekend night. Let's just say the kitchen was in the weeds. While all the food was good, it a took forever to come out and when it did some of the temperatures were clearly off. Since that time, we've been there during the week and sat at the bar for simpler food. Food service is still slow but good. The arugula salad with orange and fig is well balanced and executed, all the better for avoiding the temptation of adding goat cheese. Pizza are a nice size and take full advantage of the wood burning oven. Cocktails have been excellent. I particularly like Smoke On the Water. Sean's bar tending and mixology skills are a local treasure.
    February 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Maurice C.
    First time and really enjoyed it. Food was good and fresh. Nice portions and presented well. Service was good too.
    January 25, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Dianne S.
    Had awesome food and a great time at Vela tonight! We ate at the bar and Shawn and Erin were attentive and friendly. Shawn’s Sauvignon Blanc recommendation was perfect :) The menu selection is small but well thought out; I look forward to trying EVERYTHING! Great atmosphere; they were busy but not loud. Can’t wait to go back.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStar
    Marc L.
    Food was good, but we waited almost 2 hours for it to arrive. Experience left for much to be improved upon.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Sami K.
    Awesome ambience, excellent food and top-notch service. Will definitely be returning & highly recommend.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    George K.
    food and service were great, look forward to going back
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Russell P.
    Food was simply delicious. I look forward to visiting again.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Millicent M.
    The food, drinks, and atmosphere are fantastic! Every time we go, we try something new and it is always delicious. Perfect for a date night - sit at the bar or at one of the high top tables by the bar, or sit at one of the cozy tables in the open air dining room. Also perfect for groups.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Kyle K.
    My girlfriend and I were admittedly a bit skeptical of the menu which isnt huge. Boy were we wrong. The cocktails, food and service were all absolutely superb. The space is gorgeous and the vibe is much more Main Line, NYC or North Jersey than Bucks County, PA. We will definitely be back.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    953173
    The food, service and atmosphere are excellent. Very fresh ingredients and beautiful presentation make for a true dining experience.
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Robin S.
    Excellent and experienced bartenders mixing great cocktails. Friendly and very attentive wait staff. Food was delicious and menu selections were fantastic. Only critique would be that I very much wanted to order the papparedlle pasta noodle with a different dishsauce but was told the pasta was already prepared and ready to serve with its existing sauce. Despite this, we will definitely be going back!
    January 24, 2019
  • StarStarStarStarStar
    Leah K.
    Wonderful meal at Vela. Donna aims to please with fresh seafood and the best meatballs ever! Service was amazing and Hannah was very accommodating from start to finish. Highly recommend Vela. Such a beautiful restaurant and nice addition to Doylestown!!!
    January 24, 2019
Show More Reviews

About Us

Restaurant
Photo